Westchester Library System Annual Meeting November 12, 2009 – Approved November 9, 2010

The 50th Annual Meeting of the Westchester Library System (WLS) was held on Thursday, November 12, 2009, at The Woman's Club in White Plains, NY.

There were 219 trustees, librarians and guests representing WLS and 34 of its member libraries.

Terry Kirchner welcomed all to this event signifying the culmination of our celebration of 50 Years of Innovation, Support and Service. Dr. Kirchner thanked the State and County legislators who had presented proclamations to WLS and recognized those in attendance. Dr. Kirchner gave an overview of the services provided by WLS throughout 2009, highlighting the following services among many: Cataloging—over 260,000 books and media titles were added; El Catologo en Español; Delivery—more than 2.6 million items were delivered; Mixing in Math; Literacy 1-2-3 Workshops; Learning Express; WEBS Career Counseling Programs; Teen Job Finder Guide; Upgrade of Wireless Network in the Member Libraries; Downloadable Audio & E-book Titles; and another successful Summer Reading Program.

Dr. Kirchner introduced Patricia Fontanella, WLS Board President, to preside over the business portion of the evening.

CALL TO ORDER: President Patricia Fontanella called the Business Meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.

MINUTES OF THE 2008 ANNUAL MEETING: The minutes of the 2008 Annual Meeting were approved unanimously on a motion by Patricia Dohrenwend and seconded by Barbara Hickernell.

ELECTION OF NEW TRUSTEES: Mary Ellen Forte, Chair of the WLS Nominating Committee, proposed the following slate of officers who had been nominated by their represented libraries and were willing to serve:

District XV [Yonkers]

Mary B. Amato (to a full term ending December 31, 2014)

District XI [White Plains]

Hope Furth (to a full term ending December 31, 2014)

District VII [Harrison, Purchase]

Dave Donelson (to a full term ending December 31, 2014)

There being no nominations from the floor, the above Trustees were elected unanimously to the WLS Board of Trustees, on a motion by Patricia Dohrenwend, which was seconded by Marie Grace Mutino, and passed unanimously.

The business portion of the meeting completed at 7:35 p.m. by consensus, and Ms. Fontanella introduced former WLS Director Maurice (Mitch) Freedman.

Dr. Freedman served as WLS Director from 1985 to 2005. He spoke about the significant achievements reached during this period of time, which included the following: an increase in funding from Westchester County from \$42,000 in 1982 to \$940,000 in 2005; the decision of 37 member libraries to acquire and operate WESTLYNX, a shared online integrated library system; implementation of patron-placed holds; and expansion of the delivery service; implementation of better fiscal controls; improvement of salaries and morale; and increased visibility for WLS. Dr. Freedman then introduced Siobhan Reardon, former WLS Director from 2005 to 2008. Ms. Reardon spoke of her experience and the many accomplishments of her tenure including the strengthening of WLS internal policies and infrastructure as well as the implementation of the WLS Bookmobile and the Health Advocacy Resource Centers. Dr. Kirchner thanked Dr. Freedman and Ms. Reardon for their contributions and recognized all WLS and Member Library staff for their hard work. Dr. Kirchner then introduced the keynote speaker, author Marilyn Johnson.

Ms. Johnson has spent a lot of time in Westchester libraries, as an author researching for books and personally with her children. She shared her experiences in the various libraries throughout the County and told how she discovered that libraries are opportunities for magic.

Dr. Kirchner noted that the success of our organization over the past 50 years has been driven by the exceptional commitment to library service, innovation and support provided by our member libraries. To honor and recognize those individuals and groups that embody the spirit of WLS's mission for "seamless access to excellent library service," our member libraries were asked to nominate individuals, organizations and/or businesses for their innovation, support and service to their library; and the response was overwhelming.

The Innovation Award recognized a business that has provided new and creative resources to enhance library services in their community. The following were nominated: Chase Media Group; Entergy Nuclear Northeast; Harvest-On-Hudson; Keating Electric and Technologies; New Rochelle Downtown Business Improvement District; Sandstrom-Geffen Enterprises, Ltd.; Uno Chicago Grill. The recipient of the Innovation Award was Pat and Greg Keenan of Uno Chicago Grill, nominated by Rosemary Rusmusson of the White Plains Public Library.

The Support Award recognized a municipality, not-for-profit or volunteer organization that provided a foundation to sustain library services in their community. The following were nominated: Community Fund of Bronxville Eastchester Tuckahoe, Inc.; Croton Rotary Club; Friends of the Dobbs Ferry Public Library; Friends of the Eastchester Public Library; Friends of the Greenburgh Library; the Greenburgh Public Library Foundation; Friends of the Irvington Public Library; Friends of the John C. Hart Memorial Library; Friends of the North Castle Public Library; Friends of the Scarsdale Public Library; Hendrick Hudson Community Educational Foundation, Inc.; Ms. Muriel Lyon; Mr. Anthony Monteleone; New Rochelle Public Library Foundation, Judith Factor And Leslie Demus, Co-Presidents; Pound Ridge Police Benevolent Association, Chief: Capt. Dave Ryan, PBA President: Sgt. Michael

Armistead; White Plains Library Foundation. The recipient of the Support Award was the Friends of the North Castle Public Library, nominated by the North Castle Board of Trustees.

The Service Award recognized an individual volunteer, supporter, or donor who has championed the cause of superior service in their local library. The following were nominated: Mr. Art Almeida & Mr. Bill Altman; Mr. Lyle Anderson; Ms. Carol Barkin; Ms. Eileen Bradley; Ms. Miriam Curnin; Ms. Eileen Dennin; Mr. Victor W. Henningsen, Jr. & Mr. James J. Nicholson (Posthumously); Ms. Laura Henry & Ms. Louise Paolicelli; Mr. Norman Jacknis; Mr. Howard Jacobs; Literacy Volunteers of the Tarrytowns/Nelson Correa; Mr. Philip F. Menna; Ms. Judy Moniz; Ms. Alice Picon; Mr. Thomas L. Purdy III; Ms. Helen M. Rafferty; Ms. Jean Reidy; Ms. June Schetterer; Ms. Eva Taben; Ms. Joan Thompson; Ms. Sylvia Wein. The recipient of the Service Award was Ms. Jean Reidy, nominated by Pat Miller, Director of the Somers Library.

A raffle prize donated by Co-Communications was given out, and everyone was thanked for coming and making this event so successful.

Respectfully submitted,

Sue Neale Secretary